Book of the Month Review + Coupon Code – August 2017


Disclosure: This post may contain affiliate / referral links. Read the full disclosure.

Book of the Month Review + Coupon Code - August 2017
Book of the Month is a monthly book subscription service. Each month their panel of Judges selects a limited number of exceptional books to offer to their members. They announce their New Selections on the first of the month, and members have six days to decide which book (or books) they would like to receive. They ship books to all of their members at the same time, so members can read and participate in their discussion forum as a group.

Book of the Month
Cost: $15/month
Ships To: United States.
Coupon Code: See Below
 Disclosure: This complimentary box was received for review purposes. All opinions are my own, and no compensation was received.

Book of the Month Review + Coupon Code - August 2017
Book of the Month ships via USPS on the 6th day of each month.
Book of the Month Review + Coupon Code - August 2017

Books always come neatly sealed in perfect condition.  The jackets contain a BOTM logo, and the back shows the month the book was selected.

Book of the Month sent me all the selections this month, but I thought we’d talk about The Heart’s Invisible Furies.

❃ The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne – Judge Liberty Hardy: All of the BOTM choices this month intrigued me for different reasons.  I only wish I had time to read them all!  I have a bad habit of reading a few chapters and then starting on a new book.  Ack!  Too many choices! This one hasn’t hooked me yet, but I am hoping I can get more into it as I get a few more chapters in?

Book of the Month Review + Coupon Code - August 2017

From Judge Liberty Hardy:

Separation of Church and State of Mind

Laugh, cheer, and weep as John Boyne takes you on an unforgettable journey through the Dickensian life of one of the greatest new protagonists in literature! It has been a long time since I have loved a character as much as I love Cyril Avery.

Given up as a baby by an unwed teen mother in post-war Ireland, Cyril is adopted by the Averys, whose treatment of Cyril is more of a business arrangement than that of loving parents. It’s as if they forget he even lives there—except when they’re reminding him he’s “not a real Avery.”

As the book moves from 1945 to 2015, we follow sweet, well-intentioned Cyril from Dublin to Amsterdam to New York City as he embarks on a series of humorous and heartfelt adventures.

As he grows up, goes off to boarding school, and then out into the world, he struggles with identity, religion, and sexuality, all the while trying to discover who he really is, inside and out. For many years he is adrift, trying to make sense of his heart’s desires in a cruel, confusing world.

The story also documents a very real period in Ireland’s history, when expressing interest in the same sex meant persecution by friends and family, excommunication from the Church, and even imprisonment. While these same laws no longer apply, the book is a reminder that people suffered under these rules not that long ago. The wonderful humor throughout helps cushion that reality.

This novel is perfect for fans of John Irving and Frank McCourt. It’s big, bawdy, and brimming with heart. I wanted to wrap Cyril up and keep him safe from a world that has told him his love is wrong. This novel is a thing of magic, it absolutely floored me. Don’t be surprised at the end of the year when I tell you it’s my favorite book of 2017. And don’t be surprised when you agree.

— Liberty Hardy

Book of the Month Review + Coupon Code - August 2017

Book of the Month Review + Coupon Code - August 2017

Did you get Book of the Month this month?  If so, what book(s) did you select?  What genre is typically your favorite?


August Options

❃  Fierce Kingdom by Gin Phillips – Judge Sarah Weinman

❃ Eat Only When You’re Hungry by Lindsay Hunter – Judge Nina Sankovitch

❃ The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne – Judge Liberty Hardy

❃ Little & Lion by Brandy Colbert – Judge Katie Cotugno

❃ The Blinds by Adam Sternbergh – Judge Tyler Coates


Coupon Codes
The following offers are available:
~Use this link to get a one-month subscription for $9.99.


SaveSave


About Jennifer

Jennifer is the author and founder of Subscription Box Ramblings. She first discovered subscription boxes in 2012 and has been addicted since. Current favorites include Popsugar Must Have Box, Boxycharm, Mommy Mailbox and Rachel Zoe Box of Style.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *